2018-01-22 15:14 | https://www.haus-des-meeres.at/en/Flakturm/Lawrence-Weiner.htm
Logo Haus des Meers - Aqua Terra Zoo

Lawrence Weiner

Lawrence Weiner (* 10. February 1942 in Bronx, New York; lives in Amsterdam and New York) is one of the central figures in the formation of conceptional art in the 1960s and is regarded as a founding figure of post-minimalistic conceptual art, like Sol LeWitt, Dennis Oppenheim and Joseph Kosuth.
In 1991, during the Vienna Festival (Wiener Festwochen) nach einem Projekt ein markanter Anti-Kriegs-Spruch ("Smashed to pieces in the still of the night"/"Zerschmettert in Stücke im Frieden der Nacht" both in German and English) am oberen Teil der Fassade angebracht.

Source: Wikipedia, 10.08.2009

The Art on the Flak Tower

"One of the most striking outdoor artwork has been renovated: The writting of Lawrence Weiner on the Flak Tower in Esterhazypark in Wien-Mariahilf has been reconstructed. Smashed to Pieces (In the Still of the Night) is written on one side of the bunker, the opposite side has the writing translated in German - Zerschmettert in Stücke, im Frieden der Nacht. The Flak Tower has a new interpretation due to this piece of artwork - from symbol of nationalism it became an anti-war and anti-fascism memorial", explained Vienna's cultural councilor Andreas Mailath-Pokorny by the presentation.

Source: Wiener Zeitung, www.basis-wien.at, 24. Juni 2005

In 1991 the Haus des Meeres was informed that the piece of art could be installed for the duration of the festival and then removed. The resumpiton in 2005 was not negotiated with us.

We believed that the "reinpretation of the building" from the "symbol of nationalism" to "HAUS DES MEERES" would take very long. Frequently repeated "Anti-war and anti-fascism memorial" has been taken into account and we created a permanent exhibition "ERINNERN IM INNERN", to raise awarness of the history of the flak tower. Not only the small museum in the former commando room shows it, but also the boards with pictures on the walls in the building. 

Franz Six
Foundation Board

Share this pageFacebookTwitterGoogle+Drucken
 

Opening Hours

Daily, 365 days in a year!

Monday - Sunday: 09:00 am - 06:00 pm

Thursday: 09:00 am -  09:00 pm
more...

Artware @
© 2018, Haus des Meeres GmbH | T & C | Imprint | Disclaimer | Privacy Policy
OK

This website uses cookies in order to give you the best possible service. Further information

Cookie Hinweise

Wir verwenden Cookies um externe Inhalte darzustellen, Ihre Anzeige zu personalisieren, Funktionen für soziale Medien anbieten zu können und die Zugriffe auf unsere Website zu analysieren. Dabei werden ggf. Informationen zu Ihrer Verwendung unserer Website an unsere Partner für externe Inhalte, soziale Medien, Werbung und Analysen weitergegeben. Unsere Partner führen diese Informationen möglicherweise mit weiteren Daten zusammen, die Sie bereitgestellt haben oder die sie im Rahmen Ihrer Nutzung der Dienste gesammelt haben.

Sie können entweder allen externen Services und damit Verbundenen Cookies zustimmen, oder lediglich jenen die für die korrekte Funktionsweise der Website zwingend notwendig sind. Beachten Sie, dass bei der Wahl der zweiten Möglichkeit ggf. nicht alle Inhalte angezeigt werden können.

Alle akzeptieren
Nur notwendige Cookies akzeptieren
23.09.2020 21:31 | https://www.haus-des-meeres.at/de/Flakturm/Lawrence-Weiner.htm
Logo Haus des Meers - Aqua Terra Zoo

Lawrence Weiner

Lawrence Weiner (* 10. Februar 1942 in der Bronx, New York; lebt in Amsterdam und New York) ist ein US-amerikanischer bildender Künstler. Weiner gilt, neben Sol LeWitt, Dennis Oppenheim und Joseph Kosuth, als einer der bedeutendsten Vertreter der in den 1960er-Jahren aus dem Minimalismus entstandenen Konzeptkunst.
1991 wurde im Rahmen der Wiener Festwochen nach einem Projekt des amerikanischen Künstlers Lawrence Weiner ein markanter Anti-Kriegs-Spruch ("Smashed to pieces in the still of the night"/"Zerschmettert in Stücke im Frieden der Nacht" sowohl auf deutsch als auch auf englisch) am oberen Teil der Fassade angebracht.

Quelle: Wikipedia, 10.08.2009

Kunst am Flakturm

"Eines der markantesten Kunstwerke im öffentlichen Raum ist erneuert worden: Der Schriftzug des Amerikaners Lawrence Weiner am Flakturm im Esterhazypark in Wien-Mariahilf wurde restauriert. Smashed to Pieces (In the Still of the Night) ist auf der einen Seite des Betonbunkers zu lesen. Auf der gegenüberliegenden Seite steht die deutsche Übersetzung Zerschmettert in Stücke, im Frieden der Nacht. Durch die künstlerische Arbeit werde der Flakturm neu interpretiert und umgedeutet – vom Symbol des Nationalsozialismus zum Mahnmal gegen Krieg und Faschismus, erläuterte Wiens Kulturstadtrat Andreas Mailath-Pokorny bei der Präsentation."

Quelle: Wiener Zeitung, www.basis-wien.at, 24. Juni 2005

Das Haus des Meeres wurde 1991 informiert, dass das Kunstwerk für die Dauer der Festwochen 1991 installiert und danach entfernt, bzw. der Verwitterung preisgegeben wird. Die Erneuerung 2005 wurde mit uns nicht vereinbart.

Wir waren der Meinung, dass wir der "Umdeutung des Gebäudes" - vom "Symbol des Nationalsozialismus" zum "HAUS DES MEERES" längst nachgekommen wären. Das immer wieder zitierte "Mahnmal gegen Krieg und Faschismus" fand bei uns - im Bewusstsein der Entstehungsgeschichte des Turms - durch die Dauerausstellung "ERINNERN IM INNERN" Berücksichtigung. Nicht nur das kleine Museum im ehemaligen Kommandoraum, sondern auch erhalten gebliebene Inschriften und Bildtafeln im Gebäude zeugen davon.

Franz Six
Stiftungsvorstand

Interview Lawrence Weiner November 28, 2012

Lawrence Weiner, born in the Bronx in 1942, is part of a generation of artists who changed the course of art history with their conceptually driven work. A sculptor who works with language...

Lawrence Weiner about to leave port in Reykjavik to jettisonCourtesy of Moved Pictures Archive, NYC

Viewers often imbue your work with very specific meaning that you might not have intended. SMASHED TO PIECES (IN THE STILL OF THE NIGHT) (1991), a large public work in Vienna, was interpreted by many there as referring to the events of Kristallnacht.
That piece had nothing to do with Kristallnacht. It was to do with the fact that listening to smashing bottles in a major city such as Vienna takes on a very different tone in the middle of the night. You make something because you like the green of a Jameson bottle of whisky, you put it out there, and somebody responds because they have this desperate need to understand their relationship to green for whatever reason. Either they were brutalised in Ireland or green was the colour of the eyes of the only person that they ever fell in love with. They can take what you’ve made and use it in their life to understand their place in the real world. All art should be this universal. Artists have a role in this society and it’s a real honest to goodness role. And that’s to take these universal things and place them out there and... be that as it may.

Text by Laura McLean-Ferris

Share this pageFacebookTwitterLinkedInDrucken
Ausgezeichnet durch
Mitglied bei
© 2020, Haus des Meeres GmbH | AGB | Impressum | Benutzerhinweise | Datenschutz | Cookie Einstellungen